Wheezing With no other signs of illness

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Cereal, Sep 24, 2015.

1. Cereal

Cereal Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 27, 2014
    I have a 1-2 year old hen (no particular breed but of "normal" size) that has been wheezing for months. Not laying eggs but then again most of the clock is not L She has an appetite. She walks fine and hangs with the flock. I checked her throat for worms during the summer but saw nothing. I dusted her and checked for bugs. I have recently looked down her throat again but nothing unusual. She continues to just wheeze or breathe loudly . . . like she’s a smoker. Every once in a while she will “sneeze”. Is this a respiratory issue with no other systems?

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    I'm no expert, but it does sound like some kind of respiratory condition. My flock has a chronic respiratory illness, so when one of them shows symptoms (just like you have described), I used to isolate and give antibiotics (to help fight off secondary infections) but recently, as long as the chickens are otherwise healthy and doing "chicken things" I do not treat them with anything (but monitor them 2-3 times per day) and they seem to get over it. Guess its a bit like having the flu. Only thing is - its chronic, meaning that they are all carriers, and are likely to relapse into showing symptoms every now and again.

Having said all that, it does seem a little concerning that your hen has exhibited the symptoms you mention for such a long time (in my flock the symptoms only seem to last for 4-5 days).

Maybe another member with more experience could make some suggestions?

All the best
    CT

3. Cereal

Jul 27, 2014
    Would gapeworm have these signs ya think? I think its odd that it has lasted so long - several months

4. Pork Pie Ken

Jan 30, 2015