When can chicks start eating treats? and what kind of treats?

M&KUrbanFarmers

Hatching
8 Years
Jul 1, 2011
We have a small flock of four, between three and five days old. When can we start giving them treats? And what kinds of treats do people suggest? We are tired of startling them and would like them to look forward to us visiting their brooder!

In order to offer them much variety in treats you will need to get some chick grit into their system so that they can digest anything much more than crumble. In the next week or so you can start giving them very small bits of scrambled egg or soft fruits with no skin like melon or banana in small amounts so you don't upset the nutritional balance provided in the crumble.

I'm new at this, but can tell you that I noticed that there were aphids all over my lupins a few days ago. I cut off one of the most infested stalks and dropped it in with my two week old chicks and they just went crazy pecking all those little bugs right off the stem. I figure that tiny, pesticide free insects should be a great treat for babies. I've given them a stem or leaf to peck every day since and they come running as soon as they see it in my hand.

They also seem to love oatmeal, which I started giving them in small amounts because someone on this forum suggested it for pasty bottoms. I grind it a bit with a pestle and they peck it off my palm.

I'd value comments from you more experienced chicken people as to whether you agree that these are good and safe treats.