1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When can I expect my cochin frizzle bantam to lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Jennie5193, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Jennie5193

Jennie5193 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2009
    South East TN
    I am new to chicken raising and I have two cochin frizzle bantams. One's feather's are frizzle, the other one is not. Within the past couple of days (they are 10 weeks old) one of them has started getting a red comb and waddles. I thought that they were both hens because of the lack of red in the combs/waddles - and then I read somewhere that they start to get red in their comb before they lay. Is that correct?
    When do they generally start laying?

2. Mr. Frizzles Hen House

Mr. Frizzles Hen House Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2008
    Seabeck, Washington