When Can I Let My Chicks Scratch in the Dirt?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by birdsrfun, Aug 26, 2013.

1. birdsrfun

birdsrfun Out Of The Brooder

Aug 22, 2013
    S.F Bay Area
    Hi there, total noob here. I have 2 chicks that are 3 weeks old, and they are so restless and keep flying and jumping up on the top edge of the brooder box when the lid is off. I couldn't find another thread to answer my question, so here goes.

I want to let them out to scratch in the dirt for a short time during the day. Can they go out at this stage? They have been on straight starter food, without any grit. Won't they pick up dirt and small rocks on their own? Is there anything I need to be worried about?

Thanks for your help.

2. Veer67

Veer67 Chillin' With My Peeps

I usually let my chicks go out on the first day ( but only for a few minutes because they get chilled easily). 3 weeks old is old enough to be outside with supervision, when the chicks stop moving and start shivering I bring them inside.

3. reckless

reckless Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2013
    michigan
    My Coop
    Hey! From my research, I've come to the conclusion that letting them scratch in the dirt is good! I never let my chicks go free-range except for my silkie rooster because he's a pet, I keep them in a pen... but if you can keep track of the two of them and don't live next to a main road like me.. and can catch them that should be fine supervised~ :p

They love the dirt and like eating it. Silly little buggers! My chicks always took immediate interest in it.. after being startled by the big and wide world! It gets them used to the soil and the bacteria in your yard though, boosting their immune system. Some people will even take dirt from their yard in the brooder so they get used to it. I would provide grit in case they eat some grass. There's no guarantee they will find enough rocks to be grit-worthy... I would provide it just in case for now.