1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

when can i move my buff orp chicks outside?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by wildriverswolf90, Aug 4, 2011.

1. wildriverswolf90

wildriverswolf90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2011
    polk county, NC
    Hi I'm new at raising chicks and have 8 buff orps. I live north carolina and the days have been high 80's and lo 90's and nites are in high 70. So I'm wondering when they could go in the coop? Again I'm new to all and any tips on anything would be a great help. Thanks in advance:D

2. SmokinChick

SmokinChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    Kingsville, MD
    If your brooder temp is higher then your night temps, they can go outside. But wait until they are fully feathered in case of rain.

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    if your nights are in the high 70's and they are not in a draft, I'd go with 3 weeks old. Usually I'd say after 4 to 5 weeks when they are fully feathered out, but in those temperatures, 3 weeks is fine.

1st week - 0 to 7 days old - 90 to 95 degrees.
    2nd week- 8 to 14 days old - 85 to 90 degrees.
    3rd week - 15 to 21 days old - 80 to 85 degrees
    4th week - 22 to 28 day sold - 75 to 80 degrees.

I consider this chart very safe. They can usually handle cooler temperatures than this but with these numbers, you should have absolutely no problems.

4. SqueakyRoseShalom

SqueakyRoseShalom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2011