When can I put my ducklings outside?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by BirdGirl2004, Mar 18, 2017.

1. BirdGirl2004

BirdGirl2004 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 19, 2016
    Hello, i just got 5 new baby ducklings and as of today they are 8 days old! Right now they are in the house in a rubbermaid tub... but they are starting to smell!! I really want to get them out of the house but don't want to jump the gun and put them out to early. I was going to put them in a insulated wooden (sturdy) dog house, with lot's of straw! It's about an average of 50 degrees outside during the day. Do you think they will be fine outside? [​IMG] I know that in the next week or so that it will be getting a lot warmer in the 55's or 60's Thanks you guys!!

Do you think that you can also post pictures of winning Ancona ducks in the fair? I want mine to look something like one of those.

2. someguyhere

someguyhere Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 6, 2016
    hi, i am by no means a duck expert but i can tell you what I have done. last year we had our first round of ducks, we picked them up in sept i think so it was a little late in the year but anyways my wifes allergies could not handle the straw so i had to put them outside. they were just 3 weeks old at the time. the temps were in the 60s and 70s in the day and 30s and 40s at night. I only remember because i went and found and old thread i commented on lol. the first week out i had a heat light for them but they got to hot so i changed it to a fluorescent 35 w light for a couple weeks but ended up just taking the light out completely. I let nature kinda sturdy them up and by winter they were fully feathered and survived a pretty cold winter this year. we had 6 ducklings so i think they kept each other warm when needed. we just started getting our first eggs last week !!! I would for sure wait though only being 8 days old. we just got 3 more ducklings this past week and this time we are just using puppy pads in the brooder instead of straw. so fa