1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

when cross breeding

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by call ducks, Apr 17, 2009.

1. call ducks

call ducks silver appleyard addict

Mar 4, 2009
    waterville , canada
    shold i cross buff sebright roo with black hen or black roo with buff hen ?

2. Krys109uk

Krys109uk Chillin' With My Peeps

Are these buff laced gold & black laced gold?

I think the buff laced sebrights are dominant white. If so I don't think it would make any difference which you had the male & female.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  3. call ducks

Mar 4, 2009
    waterville , canada
  4. Krys109uk

Krys109uk Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm sorry, the link doesn't work.

I have no experience with sebrights. I had thought they were all laced but sounds like I'm wrong. [​IMG] Sorry.

5. Year of the Rooster

Year of the Rooster Sebright Savvy

Jun 27, 2008
    West Central Ohio
    Quote:No, you are correct. They are ALL laced.

There are Silver Sebrights, Golden Sebrights and Buff Sebrights.

Buff Sebrights are a buff colored birds with white "trim" around the feathers.

call ducks, it would help to know what you are trying to accomplish in this project, as I don't think Buff Sebright x Black Rosecomb will get you anything but a mix.

6. call ducks

Mar 4, 2009
    waterville , canada
    i might do this for a sci far experament just to see what it looks like.

7. Year of the Rooster

Year of the Rooster Sebright Savvy

Jun 27, 2008
    West Central Ohio
    Quote:Well, first off, what is the reason behind the research?

What is your hypothesis?