1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When do ameraucana hens start laying?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by SeismicWave9, Oct 14, 2016.

1. SeismicWave9

SeismicWave9 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 19, 2016
    I have an Ameraucana hen who is 25 weeks old and she hasn't laid an egg yet. When does this breed typically start laying?

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    I'm no expert on the breed, but she should be about to lay relatively soon. Chickens sometimes forget to read the small print on their breed characteristics [​IMG]

Signs of imminent laying include a reddening of the comb / wattle, submissive squatting when you approach and spending some time checking out nesting boxes.

1 person likes this.
  3. JenniferCNY

JenniferCNY Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2016
    I have three Easter Eggers (sold as Ameraucanas) that are 6 1/2 months. One started laying at 5 months, one at 6 months, and still waiting on the third. Her comb is finally reddening so maybe soon.

4. Dmontgomery

Dmontgomery Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Apr 1, 2014
    Longville, La
    Same here. My 4 are 6 1/2 months old and one of them has just started laying in the last week or so. The earliest started at about 17 weeks.

5. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    If you got your birds from a hatchery/farm store/or less than reputable breeder....
    ....they are more likely to be EE's than Ameraucanas, pics of birds could confirm or deny breed.

Because EE's are a mixed, they vary greatly as to onset of lay. as well as consistency of lay.

Signs of onset of lay---I've found the pelvic points to be the most accurate.
    Squatting: