When do Roos have to go?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by gaitanm24, Mar 28, 2016.

1. gaitanm24

gaitanm24 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2016
    Killeen, Texas
    I am new to chicken keeping. I have 14 chickens. Of those 14, probably 5-6 of them are roosters...we will keep one at my husband's request - probably the white leghorn. Is there an age that I must get all the extra roosters out? They are 8 weeks old right now.

2. beetandsteet

beetandsteet Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 21, 2015
    SE Texas
    [​IMG]
    When they're about 12-16 weeks old (depends on the particular rooster), their hormones will kick in and they'll start crowing, squabbling among each other, and annoying the heck out of the pullets. That's usually the age I get rid of mine. However, if you're thinking about butchering them, they would be slaughtered sometime after 18-20 weeks (if they're not meat birds).

1 person likes this.
  3. pipAchick

pipAchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2016
    VA

I'm not an expert but in MY experience IF they roo's grow up together the alpha is established early on&part of that dominance is just 'nature'. That doesn't mean they won't still check each other from time to time (especially as spring nears). It seems they do better if same kind but that might just be at my place? That's a few too many roo's though for amount of hens(for me to be comfy) unless you don't mind your hens having naked backs year round! If your gonna keep more then one roo, I def would not split them up-you don't want a stand off at time they are in same area. Just what I have witnessed in my own back yard.(hope that helps?)

4. OrganicFarmWife

OrganicFarmWife Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2015
    No where Nebraska