1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When Do You Close Various Vents/Windows?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by KCAmelia, Sep 16, 2015.

1. KCAmelia

KCAmelia Out Of The Brooder

May 31, 2015
    Hi. I am new to chicken keeping and this is our first fall/winter. For summer, ventilation is easy: open it all up! But when do you start closing it down? I have read about ventilation here on BYC, so I know it is important to always have a lot, even in the cold, but positioning also is important, right?

These two pics are of either end of my roosts. At what temp/nasty forecast would you close the vent that is right at roosting bird height (closed in pic)? And the window and vent above the roosts? Are those high enough to leave open year-round? Maybe close one or the other when it gets really cold to prevent a cross breeze draft? If so, at what temp/wind chill? I have additional venting on the other side of the coop, so even if the vents and window pictured were all closed, there would still be significant air exchange. I'm just wanting to avoid closing ventilation unnecessarily or giving my birds a deadly draft.

I'd love to hear what guidelines everyone uses and what your climate is like. We are in the US, Midwest. It's from 105 and humid in summer to -5 with moderate winds in winter. More ice than snow. Thank you!

[​IMG]

[​IMG][/IMG]

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD