When do you first candle?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by scoopy82, May 19, 2011.

1. scoopy82

scoopy82 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 19, 2010
    Victoria - Australia!
    I'm only on day 4 but its already driving me crazy and I am trying to tell myself that there is no point in candling now cos I wont really see anything, but part of me just wants to try in case i see something . . . anything! So when do people first candle? Just to see if they are developing [​IMG] Is it obvious this is my first incubating attempt [​IMG]

2. Alexander

Alexander Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2011
    Greece
  3. florasbell

florasbell Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011
    germany
    hi im also a newbie at this but what i have found is white eggs you can candle from 4/5 days and you can see the start of something maybe if ur still enough maye even a pulsating line thing which is the heart most wait till 5/7 days as it is easier with darker eggs day 7/10 and really dark eggs 10/14 i start candling from day 2 not that i can see anything but my wonder always gets the better of me it the i have a look just in case question that always gets me lol you could be surprised just have a bright light and very dark room [​IMG] the black dot with all the veins coming away from it is the babies eye if you can see this you should be able to see a little movement good luck

Last edited: May 19, 2011
  4. scoopy82

Dec 19, 2010
    Victoria - Australia!