When do you lock down Serama eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by pitbullmomma, Feb 26, 2018.

1. pitbullmomma

pitbullmomma Free Ranging

First time hatcher here...I'm assuming it's earlier than normal since they have a shorter incubation time?

Thanks in advance! :)

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Crowing

Jul 19, 2015
    Coastal Bend, TX
    IME the easiest way to know when to up humidity is by candling. Once you see them "draw down" you know they are getting close.

You can stop turning after two weeks (that goes for all chickens).

In any case, I usually assume my bantams will hatch around day 19 so as long as you have the turner off and humidity up by day 17 or 18 you're usually fine.

pitbullmomma likes this.
  3. pitbullmomma

But I thought you were supposed to lock down (in general) at 18 days? So I was thinking since Seramas hatch like two days earlier, I would lock them down at day 16 or so?

Thanks, I really appreciate the input, as this is my first time and of course I picked the hardest breed to incubate! :)

4. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Crowing

Jul 19, 2015
    Coastal Bend, TX
    Yes, people who practice "lockdown" stop turning and up the humidity three days before expected hatch. This is an easy to remember trend, not a crucial step. You can stop turning any time from 14 days on; some people never turn off the turner. As long as you up humidity when you see they have cracked the shell, you will be fine. The three day lockdown "rule" was created by people who are hands off and believe the incubator shouldn't be opened no matter what from 3 days before until everyone had hatched. Others (like me) know that as long as you maintain temp and humidity, "lockdown" isn't necessary. I've even forgotten to mark hatch dates in my calendar and forgotten I was supposed to have any hatch until I hear peeping lol

Edited for typos.

pitbullmomma and WVduckchick like this.
  5. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Crowing

Jul 19, 2015
    Coastal Bend, TX