When do you make the executive decision regarding egg removal?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rachelcb80, Nov 11, 2011.

1. rachelcb80

rachelcb80 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 22, 2011
    Mississippi
    On what day do you decide certain eggs are not developing and need to be tossed? How big of a risk am I taking if I don't throw out any eggs until lockdown? I really don't want an explosion but I also don't want to throw out an egg that might possibly be good due to my candling inexperience.

2. Barred Babies

Barred Babies Red Roof Farms

Sep 20, 2009
    Pride, La.
    Quote:By day 10 if there still clear I remove them. I'm not experienced enough to say "Hey this one's a quitter it needs to go!" So if they have progressed I leave them. Now I will remove the ones at lockdown that you can totally tell they quit mid way. And I always smell them when I candle!!

3. sonew123

sonew123 Poultry Snuggie

Mar 16, 2009
    onchiota NY
    Day 10 if they are clear they go bye bye..Ive had one exploid on me and YOU DO NOT WANT THAT HAPPENING [​IMG] by day 10 nothing will grow if it hasnt started..actually by day 6-7 same holds true but I stick to day 10 to toss and dont second guess myself:)

4. CarolJ

CarolJ Dogwood Trace Farm

Jun 3, 2011
    Middle Tennessee
    It's a pretty easy call with white eggs or light brown eggs. However, with tinted or dark brown eggs, it isn't easy to see whether or not they're developing. I'm not an expert, but unless I detect a bad odor, I plan to keep all mine in the incubator. Last time there was one egg that I was sure wasn't doing anything because all the others had hatched and it was still there - but I couldn't see inside because it was a dark welsummer egg. I kept the bator going anyway, though, and decided to wait a couple extra days. Two days after all the others hatched, out popped a chick. So I don't give up on an egg unless I'm absolutely certain it's a dud.

5. rachelcb80

Sep 22, 2011
    Mississippi