when do you start the "days" count down.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jdeggs, Apr 13, 2012.

1. The day they were laid

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. The day they went into the incubator

6 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. jdeggs

jdeggs Out Of The Brooder

Apr 13, 2012
    AL
    This is my first time hatching eggs. My question may sound silly, but better safe than sorry.

My Brahmas were laid on April 3rd, they were placed in the incubator on April 8th (received via us Mail). At day 18, they go in lock down.

Do I count the days from when they were laid or from when they went into the incubator?

2. FireTigeris

FireTigeris Tyger! Tyger! burning bright

The first day started when you put them into the incubator.

3. smchickfarm

smchickfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2010
    Waynesville,OH
    from when they went into the incubator!!!

Good luck to you and keep us posted!!! [​IMG]

4. jdeggs

Apr 13, 2012
    AL
    Thank You!!!!

5. jdeggs

Apr 13, 2012
    AL
    I have 8 buff Brahmas in there right now. Unfortunately, it very hard to see how the 6 dark brown ones are doing. The two light brown eggs...one has the dark spot (hooray) and the other I think has a blood ring (boo hoo). Worried about the dark brown ones.

Maintaining 99.5 degrees and 51 humidity in a little giant with fan.

6. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    :frow Welcome to the forum and the adventure! :frow Glad you joined us! :frow

As they said, incubation starts when they go in the incubator.

Many people count the days wrong. It seems logical that Day 1 would be the day you put them in, but that is not right.