When does it become fertile?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by stephkcole, Aug 19, 2016.

1. stephkcole

stephkcole Just Hatched

May 17, 2016
    Over the last 2 weeks, our roosters have been fertilizing our hens. I got, from what I think, is my first egg from the new flock I've been raising. My question is when do the eggs they lay start become fertilized? I used a flashlight after getting the egg from the box to check to see if it was fertilized and the egg was clear. I didn't see any kind of veins or spots. Any kind of help would be great! This is my first time with roosters and hens together so I would really love to hatch out some babies!

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Eggs will be fertile within 3 days of the hens being bred. You will see no veining until the eggs are incubated. Fertile eggs undergo a coup0le of cellular changes and will exhibit a 'bulls eye' appearance. Do an on site search on 'bulls eye fertility' for examples. It is generally not a good idea to incubate the smaller pullet eggs.

3. stephkcole

stephkcole Just Hatched

May 17, 2016
    Oh ok, so when the hen actually starts sitting on them the process wont start until then.

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Yes, that's why fertile eggs are fine to eat without any shocking experiences until they have been incubated.

5. stephkcole

stephkcole Just Hatched

May 17, 2016
    I if put one in the fridge would it be too late to put back in the nest? Its only been in the fridge for about 3 hrs.

6. rebrascora

rebrascora Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK