When to butcher?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by JazminesZoo, Nov 20, 2011.

1. JazminesZoo

JazminesZoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2011
    What is the prime age to butcher ~ Turkey/Geese/Quail/Duck/Chicken/Guinea ~ Are different breeds really that variable ? I am looking at heritage breeds, not the fast growers.

THANKS!!

Last edited: Nov 20, 2011
  2. T-Amy

T-Amy Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2011
    Woodhull, NY
    The meat chicks I got from Meyers are supposed to be butchered at 7-8 weeks. Letting them grow any longer supposedly can lead to spontaneous heart failure. This is my first time so I can only tell you what their recommendations are. Do you have all of those types of birds?

3. Fenika

Fenika Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2010
    Guineas: 12-16 weeks (Specifically Jumbo/French, but it would apply to regular guineas too)

4. JazminesZoo

JazminesZoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2011
    I will have or already have
    Bourbon Red Turkeys,
    Coturnix Quail,
    Maran Chickens,
    Sussex Chickens,
    Chukar Partridge
    Guinea Hens
    Cayuga Duck
    Barnevelder Chicken
    Buckeye Chicken

[​IMG]
    Thanks

5. Fenika

Fenika Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2010
    Plan your slaughter times and days carefully if you are doing it yourself (with or without help). I've done 8 guineas solo and I was in pain after. An auto-plucker would help. Trying to pick a day to do the last 8 was difficult and almost had to be pushed back.

If you are sending them to slaughter, have a back up plan- a second place or mobile butcher that can take your birds on fairly short notice.

6. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX