when to buy chicks???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by boston3381, Dec 15, 2009.

1. boston3381

boston3381 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2009
    hi all, im new to chickens.. im trying to plan out my chickens and coop so everything hapens around spring and have eggs buy mid summer...i live in rhode island.

im going to start the tractor coop with a large detachable run so its easy to move around in mid january. i have a very large yard.

so my question is, when should i get my chicks or should i buy adult ones???? im looking to get 6 hens 2 Rhode Island, 2 Plymouth Rock, and 2 Star.. (this may change but it still will be 6 hens)
    i all so have a spot in my house for raising chicks if need be.

P.S. if any of you live in rhode island or mass. and have or know where i can get chicks or adults locally.. it whould be much appreached<---did i spel that right??? [​IMG]

2. dichotomymom

dichotomymom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2008
    Dayton Indiana
    All the feed stores where I am begin ordering at the end of March (getting them in at the beginning of April). I've never had an issue of getting day olds in April and not having them lay by mid summer so if you don't absolutely need them at the very beginning of summer (eggs that is), April is fine.

ETA: appreciated;)

Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  3. boston3381

boston3381 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2009
    april sounds fine to me.the eggs are for me and my family ..what abought chicks vrs adults witch to get??

i guess my main concern is that they have time to adjust to the winter when it comes next year.

4. Bedste

Bedste Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2009
    Cut n Shoot Texas
    Most of my chickens were 28 or 30 weeks old before they actually laid an egg.

5. Jimmiaandboys

Jimmiaandboys Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 13, 2009
    Bennington County, VT