When to Candle?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cluckfan, Sep 13, 2011.

1. cluckfan

cluckfan Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    Bloomfield KY
    I just set my eggs this morning. When should I candle. Is it really necessary? This is my first time to set eggs. 7 Lavender Orps and six barnyard mixed.

2. weimarmama

weimarmama Overrun With Chickens

Jun 4, 2010
    Alabama
    My Coop
    I usually don't candle until day 7, then again at days 14 & 18. Usually by 7 days you'll have a good idea of which ones are developing. If there are any that I'm unsure about I leave them until the next time I candle.

3. tec27

tec27 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Pittsburgh
    candle around day 4. its interesting seeing the veins and everything grow during this time. and by this time u will know if anything is growing or not. this time is also when blood rings mainly occur. so its good to cull them now. but you can always wait to make sure.

4. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    I always candle at day 3 but I'm pretty experienced. I'd recommend you candle anytime at or after day 7. And yes, it is very necessary [​IMG]

5. Lacrystol

Lacrystol Hatching Helper

Jun 13, 2009
    Diamond, Ohio
    Are these shipped eggs? If they are you should have candled them as soon as you got them in the dark because sometimes they have a hair like crack that you can't see with the naked eye. But as soon as you candle them BOOOm there it is.. You can see the cracks..

6. yinepu

yinepu Overrun With Chickens

i candle eggs when I go to set them to check for hairline cracks

then again at day 7 or 10 depending on egg color and type of bird (ducks are day 10 as well as dark shelled eggs)

then candle once more at lockdown