When to get rid of the lamp and put the birds outside?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Jenismyname, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Jenismyname

Jenismyname Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2012
    Urbana, IL
    Hello I am a chicken newbie. I live in Central Illinois, it can get pretty cold here. I have four 15 week old chickens(1 RIR, 2 leghorns, and a mystery maran). They have been in an oversize brooder now since day 1. I have 2 starter coops. One is a nice size, home made (no run) and one that I purchased off of EBay(with a run). It's made out of wood and plastic. Mostly plastic... I have no idea what the plastic is called by the make up of it is similar to card board. I'm pretty sure they are way beyond ready to go outside. But is it necessary to step them down from the heat or can I just put them outside. Whenever I look in the brooder they are always on the half of the brooder where the light is not on. Also how long can I leave them outside? I work from 9am about 7pm. Should I leave them out that long?

Thank you

Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  2. tadpole98

tadpole98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2012
    Missouri
    15 week old chicks are definitely ready for the outdoors.
    (for future reference they should be ready to go out by week 6 [​IMG] )
    I would put them in the coop and lock them up for a week so they know thats their home, they need to return there. Unless you have a run, in which you can usually just put them out there and herd them in at night.
    let them out at daylight, and put them in around dark.
    you said you get home at 7 which can be a problem with it getting dark at 5:30. if your coop/run is not predator proofed then you will probably have some problems.
    Also, get ready for eggs in a few weeks! good luck!

3. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Do you need to acclimate chickens before putting into a different climate? Absolutely.