When to give chicks to new homes

CovertFarm

In the Brooder
Sep 9, 2022
We have 15 new chicks as of yesterday, and have been planning to give them to new homes since we saw our hen's hidden nest a couple weeks ago. I didn't have the heart to abort them, but I also knew we couldn't keep them all either. I have some families interested in taking them, but I'm not sure when the chicks will be strong enough to go. We are keeping 4, so hopefully having them around will keep our hen happy. Does anyone have any advice on this subject?

I'm still learning, but it may depend a little on the home situation they are going to. If someone is starting fresh with them / not doing an introduction, I'd recommend waiting until fully feathered and no longer seeking warmth from their mother. I think that's 6-10 weeks depending on the breed. If they will get introduced to new adults, possibly let them get a little more size first as they'll need to be hearty enough to run and evade grown hens asserting dominance.

I'm still learning, but it may depend a little on the home situation they are going to. If someone is starting fresh with them / not doing an introduction, I'd recommend waiting until fully feathered and no longer seeking warmth from their mother. I think that's 6-10 weeks depending on the breed. If they will get introduced to new adults, possibly let them get a little more size first as they'll need to be hearty enough to run and evade grown hens asserting dominance
I'm still learning, but it may depend a little on the home situation they are going to. If someone is starting fresh with them / not doing an introduction, I'd recommend waiting until fully feathered and no longer seeking warmth from their mother. I think that's 6-10 weeks depending on the breed. If they will get introduced to new adults, possibly let them get a little more size first as they'll need to be hearty enough to run and evade grown hens asserting dominance.