when to handle baby chicks?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mommy3, Sep 19, 2011.

1. mommy3

mommy3 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 19, 2011
    Plantsville, CT
    We are new to this and have 8 eggs- barred rock chickens, that are due to hatch in 2 days if all went well! I read on one site that you have to be very careful handling the chicks- my kids- 15,11 and 7 are very excited to hold them as well. When is it safe for them to hold the chicks? We obviously have to move them from the incubator to our bruder. Any tips and helpful hints would be great! also, how do we find out where to get chicken feed? Our Agway has very little and only small bags-not sure how to go about finding a larger supply- we live in CT.

2. loanwizard

loanwizard Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:I am not a pro but just hatched 7 less than a week ago. 1st, are they under a hen or in an incubator? If in an incubator, they should be ok to handle as soon as they are all hatched and dry. They are safe in the incubator without food or water for at least 36 hours. Mine were all at least 12 hours old before I handled them. Fascinating and resilient creatures! I repeat though, if in an incubator please don't attempt to handle till all that are going to hatch have had the opportunity. My batch hatched on day 20 and 21. Several of the ones I threw away have chicks in them that had I given them another day or two.... who knows?

Do you know any farmers in Wethersfield, Cromwell, Rocky Hill, South Glastonbury, or anywhere down rte 9? It's been 20 years since I lived there, but I'll bet there are some backyard chicken folks there who would know where to buy chick starter/grower.

3. mommy3

Sep 19, 2011
    Plantsville, CT