When to Introduce ex-battery hens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Anastacia, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Anastacia

Anastacia New Egg

Jan 25, 2012
    Hi everyone
    I'm about to start a coop (am clearing our our garden on the weekend). We are looking to get 3 Isabrown hens at point of lay as well as rescuing 3 battery hens who are on the culling list. These rescue hens are only adopted out once given the all clear by the vet.

My question is when should I introduce them. Do I get them all the same day and introduce them to the coop together? Or do I get the resuce hens first and give them a good chance to get strong before buying the Isabrowns? Or buy the Isabrowns first?

Of course I will talk to the rescue place and ask their advice but it's the middle of the night here in Australia so I thought I'd ask my new American friends what their advice is.

The other factor to consider is that I am new to hens, maybe I should get my skills up before introducing frail little darlings so I'd be in a better position to look after them.

What do you think?

2. Lyssa

Lyssa Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2011
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi there,

I just saw your post. I haven't introduced hens yet, because I just let my girls hatch eggs and the chicks grow up with the group... but I would recommend doing a search here at BYC, there are so many posts on exactly what your asking. From what I was reading, letting the chickens be near each other, but unable to get at each other seems to work. Many people talk about a wire dog crate, to let them get to see and smell each other for a day or so, then letting them out together after a few days.