When to introduce to flock/coop?

Hug a tree

In the Brooder
Sep 8, 2017
I'm new at raising chicks but I have 5 older hens. My chicks are not fully feathered but getting big so I'm planning ahead. I know I should not introduce them to my hens until they are the same size and preferably at night. I was wondering if I would be able to put them in the coop (when they have their feathers) in a large dog kennel? Or would that cause problems/pecking through the crate? Also, when they are the same size (which seems like it might be forever from now), should I use a heat lamp at night or will they be okay on their own? Thanks!

I integrate my chicks at 4-8 weeks of age. I wouldn't wait until they are older it will be more difficult. Start by putting the young ones next to or in a pen in your current set up to get your older birds used to seeing them.

How old are your chicks? How big is your coop and run?

Actually, it's not a rule that you must wait until the chicks reach full size to integrate them with the adults. In fact, integrating small chicks is much easier because they represent no threat to the adult flock.

Many of us here at BYC are integrating our chicks as early as age two weeks, this is sans broody hen, using what I've coined a "panic room". It's a safe enclosure with multiple chick-size entrances where the chicks can retreat for safety to rest, to eat and drink, and to grow their self confidence.

If you look down below this post, you'll see a list of my articles I've written for BYC. Copy and paste into your browser the one on brooding chicks outdoors for all the details and advantages of integrating chicks early.

Chicks are about 3 weeks old (seems soooo much longer to me!) and our coop is a she'd like structure about 8x10. I put them in the kennel without a bottom to let them scratch outside but they were getting through the sides.