When to put an egg eater back with the flock??? SHOULD I EVER???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by keeko, Aug 23, 2010.

1. keeko

keeko Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 22, 2009
    Asheville, NC
    Hello all!

I'm new to keeping chickens, and my 12 girls are just starting to lay. I have 6 laying hard shelled eggs as of this morning! But a few weeks back when egg laying just got started, I had an Ameraucana girl going crazy over soft eggs that some hens were laying in the middle of the night (we found them on the poop boards the next morning).

So I've had the Ameraucana isolated in the tractor with a Buff Orpington who's not laying, for company. I'd really love to put the Ameraucana back in the flock, but I'm so nervous about her starting up the egg eating again, and teaching the others this bad habit! So far, everyone who is laying is doing so without pecking or eating the eggs...they're laying them and leaving them in the nest boxes, which is great. But if my Ameraucana is still suspect, should I NEVER put her back with the flock, and just cull her and count my losses?

Do I wait until she starts laying and see what she does??? Should I risk putting her back in with good layers to teach them the habit??? HELP!! I really don't want to get rid of her if I can help it, but I don't want 12 egg eaters!!

2. Eastins Eggs

Eastins Eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2009
    Ceresco Nebraska
    Put an egg in with her and see what she does. You will have your answer soon enough.

3. chicksbestfriend

chicksbestfriend Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2010
    Maui, Hawaii