When to remove Thermometer from incubator

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by spateslak, Mar 13, 2013.

1. spateslak

spateslak Out Of The Brooder

Mar 13, 2013
    Hi guys! I'm new to hatching chickens and this is my first hatch but I feel like I've read so much but the one thing I wasn't sure about is what to do with my thermometer now that my eggs have begun piping underneath it! The thermometer is laying on top of the eggs just like I read in the directions but now one of the eggs underneath is beginning to pip and I don't know what to do! I'm not sure if I should just leave it for fear of opening the incubator during hatching or take it out so it doesn't crush or trap the chick! It's just the thermometer that came with the Hovabator incubator but I'm still so nervous and I have no idea what to do! Please help!! Thank you!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]you could post this question in the section of the forum dealing with incubation. How far along are the eggs? Are they close to, or already starting to hatch? If you open the incubator the temps and humidity will dive. If the eggs are not ready to hatch you could reach in quicky and put the thermometer somewhere else. Then spray a little water to help get humidity back up.
    You really need a thermometer in there to check for overheating or under - some people use 2 or 3 therm. to be fairly certain of the temps.

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Hello and welcome to BYC [​IMG] X2 the above. Keep an eye on the hatching chick and remove the thermometer if needed, but don't open the incubator unless you have to. Good luck with your hatch!

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, spateslak, and [​IMG]! Great to have you here! I defer to the experts, all matters involving incubating. Good luck to you!