1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When to stop turning?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by FloridaChick88, Jan 23, 2017.

1. FloridaChick88

FloridaChick88 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 7, 2016
    I have 11 bantam and 1 standard size egg in my incubator right now. Most of the eggs were put in the incubator on the 8th of this month with the exception of 2 bantam eggs and the large egg. When should i stop turning them? All of the bantams that we have hatched naturally from these hens tend to come a few days early and my big girls eggs always hatch right on day 21. This is my first time incubating babies myself so im pretty nervous and i dont want to harm any of them by taking the turner out too soon.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    The standard method used is after 18 days of incubation you take out the turner and increase humidity. This is typically called lockdown. I also started eggs on the 8th and will lockdown Thursday the 26th.

Technically you don’t have to turn chicken eggs after about 14 days if incubation. Turning early in incubation helps the body parts to form in the right places and keeps the yolk and developing chick from touching the inside of the shell and getting stuck. By 14 days the body parts have formed and the membrane around the chick has developed to protect it from touching the inside of the shell. You could have stopped turning yesterday, but I kept going. It doesn’t hurt to keep turning the eggs, you just don’t have to.