When to take away heat plate

FireflyTX

Chirping
6 Years
Feb 8, 2017
My chicks are 4 weeks old and THRIVING! I put them out in the coop last week with their Brinsea Ecoglow heat plate. They come out during the day in the small run I made them and they just love going in and out of the coop. I live in Texas and right now it's about 80-85 during the day and temps at night hoover around 53 but may be 60 or it may drop to 45 for a few hours. When can I take the heat plate away?They have loads of feathers. Way more than down. I am getting some baby ducks Thursday and I would love to use the heat plate for them inside. But if I have to I will use a heat lamp and leave the chickens with the heat plate.

I'm no expert, So take what worked for me, with a grain of salt.

I weaned mine off the heating pad at 4 weeks. I only turned it on at night and at the lowest setting. I used a mamma heating pad. At 5 weeks they were off and outside. Temps are freezing at night here. I have 10 of them so they huddle together at night. They are in a draft free coop with wood chip bedding.
Hope this helps.

Usually when they are fully feathered or the air temperature is the same as what they are used to. Of course I only use a heat lamp, so maybe the people in the mama's broody pad thread could answer your question better.

I took mine off at 4 weeks. They are out in the coop with temps at 70 in the day and around 30 at night. They are doing great. I turned off the heater pad for a few days while they were in the garage then moved them out to the coop.