1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When to take them out?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by genevieve, Aug 17, 2011.

1. genevieve

genevieve Out Of The Brooder

May 19, 2011
    I have 4 chicks hatched out and one pipped right now. Two eggs are rocking. When do I take the hatched ones out? They are fluffy, running around, and pecking the $h!t out of the poor one that is part of the way out of the shell. If I take them out will my humidity drop and doom the rest of the clutch? There are 13 eggs total, but I think only 12 are viable.

2. DUCKGIRL89

DUCKGIRL89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2011
    TN
    I would say take them out really quick! But im a newbie to this, im doing my first hatch next week. I dont know if that is the right answer but hopefully this will bump you.

3. Farmer_Dan

Farmer_Dan Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2010
    Seattle
    They can stay in for up to 4 days. If/when you take them out is dependent on you and your incubator mostly. Some people say to take the incubator in the bathroom and run the shower for a few minutes to get it all hot and steamy and take them out there.

If you have a good incubator and can keep it only open for a few seconds, it might be best to take them out, but it's always a risk as you will be dropping the humidity and therefore potentially cause any unhatched chicks to get shrink wrapped inside the egg.

Good luck with whatever you decide. [​IMG]

4. Bantam Username

Bantam Username Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 3, 2011
    Wiltshire, UK
    I've also heard people say that if when you take out the chicks you have a warm wet paper towel to pop in as you take the chicks out, it helps replace the humidity lost. [​IMG]

5. genevieve

May 19, 2011