when to turn on the heat lamps

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by klleclair, Sep 17, 2011.

1. klleclair

klleclair New Egg

Sep 17, 2011
    We are first raising our first group of hens and live in Maine, we bought from a local farm store so I am sure our breeds will be weather fine but we're trying to figure out the whole temperature/heat lamp dilemma. Its still 60-80 here during the day but were closing in on 40 degree nights pretty quick. Will 1 red lamp be enough for my 6 girls? Can I get some type of timer or thermostat timer so that we aren't wasting electricity and I know that the light will be on when they need it??????
    Thanks so much for any help!

2. mljohnson05

mljohnson05 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2011
    Missouri
    First of all, How old are your chicks???
    are they inside the house or outside ?

3. yellowirenut

yellowirenut Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 27, 2011
    New haven, IN
    i am just a rookie at this but i have herd you don't want to keep them to warm. What if the power goes out when its 3 deg out and they are used to 60 deg with the lamp.

I got one of thees
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000M4ZJ6Y
    on at 20 off at 30
    Plug the heat lamp into it and let it be.

4. Pharm Girl

Pharm Girl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2011
    Quote:Most people don't use any heat. My chickens are spoiled babies, however, and I do turn a 50watt reptile bulb on (they have a tiny coop) when the temps fall below freezing. If they are over 9-15 weeks, they will be perfectly fine at 40 degrees.

5. Rosaleen

Rosaleen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2011
    Danville, Vermont