When will his legs stop being so stiff?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by shaft0463, Nov 21, 2010.

1. shaft0463

shaft0463 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 8, 2010
    We butchered our first turkey tonight, and all went well. Got him plucked and gutted, into a bath of cool water, then onto ice a couple hours later. He's now in the fridge.

But he's still stiff as a board. Luckily he wasn't too terribly big, or he wouldn't have fit in the fridge with his legs all stretched out.

When will he relax? If he doesn't relax, he won't fit in my oven.

I am new to all of this, and hubby hasn't done poultry before. Just pigs and deer, so the meat is removed from the carcass. He's never had to worry about fitting the danged thing into a fridge or oven [​IMG]

2. Dogfish

Dogfish Rube Goldberg incarnate

Mar 17, 2010
    Western Washington
    Friday, maybe Saturday. [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
  3. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio
    How old was it. I had that same problem with my first chicken kill it happened when it was left to bleed out to long.

4. sred98

sred98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2008
    Oklahoma
    He should relax in a day or two. If he's not ready by Thursday, you can always bind his legs. I wouldn't worry about it until Wednesday night. [​IMG] My Thanksgiving turkey was eaten alive by a neighbor's dog, so we had to buy. I was heartbroken. She was about 40 pounds when it happened and I ended up having to buy one. I've got to wait til next year to try "real" turkey. Hope it turns out wonderful!!

Shelly

5. shaft0463

Jun 8, 2010
    He was 6 months old, not terribly large. It did take us a while to pluck and gut him, because FIL was teaching me how to do it.

If his legs don't relax, will he be tough? If he's not ready in time, I would rather go buy one and let him sit until he's ready than eat him when he's tough [​IMG]

6. MovieFanz

MovieFanz Out Of The Brooder

Sep 14, 2010