When will my barred rock lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MrOrpington16, Oct 15, 2013.

1. MrOrpington16

MrOrpington16 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2013
    MA
    So I adopted my bared rock and had her for a moth or so... She had bright yellow legs and now are fading ... She hasn't grew much but her combs and waddles are much larger... She has to be Atleast 5 moths or so! She doesn't squat and still runs away from me.[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. pipemum

pipemum Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2013
    looks pretty red to me, but her comb seems a bit small. I have zero experience with barred rocks actually laying, so yeah, I'm about zero help to you. My barred rocks are 23 weeks, have had red faces for weeks and more pronounced combs and wattles than yours, and aren't laying yet. They started squatting a couple of days ago, so I guess soon? I'm so impatient. Feels like I've owned them forever! Here's to hoping we both get some eggs soon!

1 person likes this.
  3. MrOrpington16

Aug 28, 2013
    MA
    Yes, it is very hard to wait;).... I have a a 6 moth old Easter egged and she has a very small comb:( so it looks like she won't be changing for a while

4. kwestley

kwestley Out Of The Brooder

Apr 14, 2013
    My barred rocks started to lay around 22 weeks. They are good layer, so worth waiting for it!! I know how it feels to wait for the first EGG!! Been there, done that!! [​IMG]

By the way, my chickens never squat for me (even now!!), so don't count on it!! You might have a surprise soon!

5. MrOrpington16

Aug 28, 2013
    MA

Thank you so much!!! :D It is so hard to wait!! I have many of the breeds you do! I have a light brahma, buff Orpington, barred rock, and Easter egger... My Easter eager is 6 months old and has a small comb and I am hoping she will lay soon!::/

6. pipemum

Apr 8, 2013