When will my pullet start laying?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 5SweetChicks, Feb 25, 2013.

1. 5SweetChicks

5SweetChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 28, 2012
    Michigan
    I'm new at this whole thing so maybe someone could help me. My pullet's comb is starting to get redder and she is starting to grow wattles. She is about 4 months old almost 5 months. Here are some pictures:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I do have another pullet but her comb and wattles aren't that big. She is a little smaller and still growing.

**Note**
    I do not have nesting boxes set up yet. We basically threw a coop together before winter to move them out of where they currently were. But. I can easily go to the store and buy already made nesting boxes and put them up if shes going to start laying sooner than I expected.

2. Sakmeht

Sakmeht Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2011
    What kind of hen is she? My black sex-links started laying at 18 weeks - most hybrids will lay early. If you have one of these, you'll need nest boxes, and soon. If you have a non-hybrid type, it won't be as early. I believe most birds start around 24 weeks or so, but again, it depends on the breed. I have three pure bred Ameraucanas that are now 47 weeks are haven't laid an egg yet. So, all I can say is, try to have some patience and get some nestboxes. lol

3. 5SweetChicks

Oct 28, 2012
    Michigan
    I believe she is an Ameraucana. But she also might be mixed with something. I think Im getting nesting boxes today and putting them in the coop tomorrow.

4. swga

swga Out Of The Brooder

Jun 13, 2012