1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

When will she lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jklyles1, Feb 7, 2013.

1. jklyles1

jklyles1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 21, 2013
    Texas
    Anyone want to take a guess on when this girl will lay her first egg?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    She is much redder in the face and her comb has grown quite a bit.

2. flirty31

flirty31 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 29, 2012
    Tacoma, WA
    As a newbie, I have NO IDEA! But perhaps while we're taking bets, someone would like to wager on when my ladies will start laying?

[​IMG]

3. missnu01

missnu01 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 16, 2012
    I have a hen that just started to get her comb in and red...and I'm still waiting on her to start...mine is a buff orp, and when we got her she had no comb at all, and now she has a small red comb, so hopefully soon. I have found a couple of eggs that might actually be hers, but I can't be sure. I just find it unlikely that every once in awhile it would almost seem that my leghorn lays one big and one smaller egg. I have been assuming that my hen in waiting has been leaving small eggs here and there, perhaps once a week or so...I'm hoping she'll really start soon.

4. jklyles1

Jan 21, 2013
    Texas
    This evening when i went to put the chickens to bed the one in the pictures above was singing what sounded like the egg song!! She has never done that before. I didnt find an egg anywhere and she ended up getting up on the roost and going to sleep. What does this mean?? Is she just practicing?

5. cmoore333

cmoore333 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2013