Where can I find day-old Frizzle pullets this time of year?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by ChickyBangBang, Sep 20, 2012.

1. ChickyBangBang

ChickyBangBang Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2012
    Hello all,

My apologies in advance if any of my words are not the "accepted" words, but I am brand new to this chicken ownership thing.

I think I have finally decided on what kind of looks I want, but they are not available anywhere (that I've seen) online, nor are they available locally.

I want three frizzle day-old pullets - color isn't *super* important but I would like all three of them to be different colors, because otherwise it will be hard for me (a noob) to tell them apart.

What I CAN promise:

They will be spoiled.
    They will be vetted when necessary (1 hour away from the nearest fowl vet)
    They will be fed the best available feed out there.
    They will be kept absolutely immaculately clean

What I CAN'T promise:

They'll be perfectly raised, because I'm brand new and I'm bound to make mistakes.

Thank you in advance

2. Bunnylady

Bunnylady POOF Goes the Pooka

Nov 27, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    [​IMG]Hey, we all had to start somewhere. [​IMG]

Your question is a fairly simple one, but the answer isn't quite so simple.

For starters, Frizzle isn't actually a breed, it's a type of feathering. There are several breeds which are commonly seen with frizzled feathers, the Bantam Cochin being probably the most common. Unfortunately, as they are bantams, most of the hatcheries don't try to sex them, but sell them as straight run (meaning, luck of the draw, pullets and cockerels just as they hatched).