Where do you incubator your eggs? (ex. bathroom, spare bedroom, etc)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cjexotic, Feb 24, 2009.

1. cjexotic

cjexotic Cj's Mandarin Ducks

Mar 11, 2008
    Central PA
    I am wondering where others incubator your eggs. I am new at this and getting ready to load up the incubator. My new bator came today.. I am at work I want to leave now.. since I know its there. lol
    I want to put it in the bathroom as its the warmest and most constant heated room. My other half thinks its a bad idea due to the humity from the shower. Now there is only two of us. So its not like the shower is used for a couple hours to get the family bathed.
    Please help me out on where the best place to put the bator..

Thanks cj

2. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

I incubate them in my finished basement. The temp stays around 54 degrees.

3. Rare Feathers Farm

Rare Feathers Farm Overrun With Chickens

Spare bedroom. I block the vents & keep the door closed. It stays about 55 degrees in there.

4. luvmychicknkids

luvmychicknkids Canning Squirrel

Mar 6, 2008
    Floresville, Texas
    I keep it in MY bedroom so I can get up every 5 minutes through the night and stare into the bator.....I keep a flashlight right by for that purpose, too. LOL

5. cjexotic

cjexotic Cj's Mandarin Ducks

Mar 11, 2008
    Central PA
    So you want the lower temp? I can do the basement.. i think.. humm.. never thought of that.

hummm bedroom, flashlight, up every 5 min. to see in bator.. now that sounds more like me. lol

Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  6. miss_jayne

miss_jayne Lady_Jayne

Jun 26, 2008
    Columbiaville, MI
    i have mine in the living room. right under the thermostat.

i would think the humidity in the bathroom could have dramatic swings with bathing causing spikes in the bator.

find somewhere in the house where humidity and temp are pretty consistent.

7. jj ranch

jj ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2009