1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Where do you keep your chicks prior to the coop?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by KiotiCK25, Jun 20, 2007.

1. KiotiCK25

KiotiCK25 New Egg

Jun 20, 2007
    Virginia
    I'm a newbie my wife and I are looking at getting some chickens. So I have picked up a few books read through them, lurked on this site for weeks. But one thing I never really came across is what people do when they get them home. Where specifically do you "house" the chicks until they are old enough to go out into the coop?

Either from the Poultry Hatchery you would order the chicks from, or if you get them locally. I understand how and what tools you set up for them as far as a heat lamp, water, etc. But I haven't come across any threads using the search tool that metioned what some of you hobby farmers are doing?

Do you keep them in your house in a mud room, basement or garage of some sort?

Also do any of you know any hatcharies in North Western Virginia?

Best website yet for small chicken farmers that I found.

Thanks,

Sean

Last edited: Jun 20, 2007
  2. Judymae

Judymae Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2007
    Merit, Tx
    My babies are 3 weeks old today! I have my brooder right in my living room. The pine shavings are getting replaced every nite. I disinfect the brooder before replacing the shavings. [​IMG] We haven't had a problem with odor yet. Just a lot of dust! I like them nearby so I can give them attention more often. Whenever I get a chance I grab one and sit on the couch and give'em some lovin'. [​IMG] A lot of people do use the washroom or other tiled area. Our living room is wood flooring so it's easy to sweep up the dust!

3. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member