1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Where is a good place to get chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by teambrother, Mar 9, 2012.

1. teambrother

teambrother New Egg

Mar 8, 2012
    Laurinburg, NC
    I am totally new to the chicken thing. My daughter and I have built a nice brooder box and are assembling a small coop. We want to start off small and see what happens. The problem is we have a place to house chicks and chickens but no chicks or chickens themselves. Finding the chicks is not as easy as I thought. Can't find anything local and alot of the mail order places don't want to bother with a small quantity of 4 chicks. Does any one have any ideas? The local Tractor Supply is new and gave all their chicks to other stores. They said they didn't think they would sell. Thanks for any help you can offer.[​IMG]

2. tgblldog70

tgblldog70 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2011
    Fort Wayne, IN
    do you have a Rural KIng in your area? They have chicks now also call some local mom and pop feed stores they always have the low down on newly hatched and breed animals for sale. If you were close I'd offer you some of our new chicks we have almost 20 now with 25 more on the way.

3. billl2099

billl2099 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 6, 2011
    local breeders often advertise on craigslist under farm and garden, also try your local feed store

4. footloose

footloose New Egg

Mar 9, 2012
    Royse City Texas
    Tractor Supply is a store which usually has a few varieties this time of year.

5. BroodCoop

BroodCoop Out Of The Brooder

Jan 13, 2012