Where is the learning in showing? Exhibitors? Judges?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by ChickenPotPie, Oct 27, 2010.

1. ChickenPotPie

ChickenPotPie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2009
    California
    Forgive me. I am fairly new to the poultry show world but not to the show world, in general. We've had chickens for 9 years and my children have attended one or two poultry shows (other than county fairs) twice a year for two years now. We have raised and actively shown rabbits for 5. It seems, to this poultry show newbie, that the differences in the learning opportunity at poultry vs. rabbit shows is night and day.

Our experience at the poultry shows we've been to has been consistent. Birds are cooped, rows roped off, judge and writer/clerk go down rows, cards marked. It's over. You go look at placings but reasons for placements or comments on animals are never given. Virtually nothing is learned. I find this discouraging.

Rabbit shows, however, seem to provide ample opportunity for learning. Rabbits are brought in carriers or cooped. Breeds and classes are called and rabbits are brought to the table and placed in judging coops. The judge then silently looks over each rabbit (does not look at ear tatoos yet) for DQs, conformation, condition, etc. Exhibitors and visitors watch from the other side of the tables. Placements follow. In placing, the judge gives comments, either brief or detailed depending on what he/she feels is important to point out. But comments are almost always given - especially with the top placing rabbits. Often the judge will explain his 1st placings comparing or giving reason why that animal won. Reasoning for breed placements are always given - even if brief. ie exhibitors always have the opportunity to learn if they just listen.