1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

where to buy baby chicks locally

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by laoster, Jan 19, 2012.

1. laoster

laoster New Egg

Jan 19, 2012
    hello,

i am new to raising chicks. i would like to get some advice and information so here is a list of questions.
    first of all, i want to say thanks for helping me to the right direction.

1. where to buy little chicks locally here in beaverton, oregon
    2. what kind of breed should i get
    3. we are a family of 3, myself, wife and our little dog. will my dog be a problem? she a little 6 pounds of sweeten!
    4.how big should the coop be for 2-3 chicken
    5.as for the chicken run, would it be great if it just dirt or sand on top of dirt?
    6. will have a heat lamp installed in the coop for cold weather, i see some picture of the chicken coop but don't
    where to put the lamp and how long should the lamp be turn on? during the night or day. again i live in NW and its rain a lot
    7. once the chicken coop is built and heat lamp is install, we can just put the little chicks in their new home or is there a way to raise them before or a waiting period before i put them into their new home.

thank you so much and sorry if my grammar isn't great!

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I pretty much agree with Mahonri, but I'll add a bit.

1. where to buy little chicks locally here in beaverton, oregon