Where will my eggs be???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by markofthebee33, Aug 20, 2011.

1. markofthebee33

markofthebee33 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2011
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    I am a newb and my hens seem very close to laying. They have a coop that I keep them in at night so coons and coyotes cant get them with a small fence that really serves NO purpose at all. During the day though they have free range of the back yard. Will they just lay wherever? I have no desire to cage them or confine them but I'm concerned I wont get to the eggs in time if I can't find them. What should I look for? Do they bury them? How long do they last on the ground? I need some advise from the more experienced chickeneers!!! Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

2. kuntrygirl

kuntrygirl Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Feb 20, 2008
    Opelousas, Louisiana
    They will lay in the nesting boxes that you provide for them.

3. markofthebee33

markofthebee33 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2011
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    They refuse to go in them. They sleep up on the opposite shelf in the coop away from the boxes, but they only go in there coop at night to sleep. What then?

4. chickenpredatorkiller

chickenpredatorkiller Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2011
    South Carolina
    what I would do is, wait for the first egg, then put a couple things like golf balls or wooden or fake eggs in the nest boxes to encourage them to lay there. Its normal for them to not want to go in there, they like sleeping on a perch. The fake "Eggs" will hopefully trick them into laying in the boxes. Hope this helps:)

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop