Where's the Chicks???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chickadee55, Apr 5, 2011.

1. Chickadee55

Chickadee55 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 17, 2010
    Central Florida
    Now that I have a coop, I can't find any chicks. [​IMG] I was going to order some on-line but since I'm new at this I don't want the minimum of 12. I only want to start out with 5 or 6. Every time I go to the feed store to buy them. They are sold out. I tried to order them through the store but they said they are having a hard time getting them from the hatchery. Anyone else having a hard time? [​IMG]

2. MyKidLuvsGreenEgz

MyKidLuvsGreenEgz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2011
    Colorado Plains
    mypetchicken.com will do small orders.

next time you're in the feed store (or call), ask about ordering the breed you want. you may have to wait a month or so, but ... it's an option to explore.

3. spaceapple

spaceapple Out Of The Brooder

Mar 26, 2011
    Ann Arbor
    You can also get just a few from Meyer. Both they and My Pet Chicken have a minimum of three; they use a heat pack to keep them warm enough during the trip.

4. paul65

paul65 Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2008
    SW Pennsylvania
    I like Ideal but they are sold out of almost everything. You only have to spend 25$ that counts shipping.

5. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 28, 2011
    MN
    I got my girls at a feed store. They have several varities come in through out the season.

6. BarefootMom

BarefootMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2010
    Half Way, Missouri
    Maybe look on CL? Most of the feedstores around here post in the farm and garden section when and what times they are having chick day. Usually takes place on Saturdays.

Plus there are alot of people around here that are selling chicks on CL...

Cackle Hatchery also does small orders..

7. Jake1297

Jake1297 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2011
    Western Maine