Which breed/bird should i show?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by americana-chick, Jan 14, 2010.

1. americana-chick

americana-chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2008
    I am debating which breed or birds i should show at the next fair. The ones i am interested in showing are.. Partridge cochin, black bantam cochin, FBCMs, and porcelain d'uccle bantams. with the Porcelains and FBCM i will have pairs, can you put them together in one cage or do they have to be seperate? This is my first time showing and any info would be greatly apreciated! (the fair isnt until July but i want to be ready)
    Here are my 5 month old FBCM pair. Do you think they look pretty good for show?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    My Partridge cohcin hen who is about 1 year old:
    [​IMG]
    Black cochin bantam hen who is about 2-3 years old: (she has a tiny bit of her comb missing, how much of a disqualification is that?)
    [​IMG]
    My Porcelain d'uccle pair who are about 2-3 years old (i will work on their feathered feet if i take them)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    (i will try and get better pictures later)
    Any information on showing and any thoughts about my birds would be greatly apreciated!

Oh and one breed that i didnt mention was my blacksexlin khen.. do they have a category for sexlinks? I would really like to enter her as she has really come in nicely. She is about 3 years old has a very nice gold chest and is very heavy looking.
    Thanks!

2. americana-chick

Jun 18, 2008
    I think because my Porcelain roo doesnt fit to standard i might just show my cochins and Marans. Does anyone know what judges look for in Partridge Cochins and black cochin bantams?

3. cochin123

cochin123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2009
    fort walton beach, fl
    [​IMG]i would NOT show the cochins the black look ok but the partridge does fit the ABA standard , i would show the d uccle they look the best . [​IMG] hope this helped !

4. greenfamilyfarms