which breed???

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Zcruzer, Feb 24, 2015.

1. Zcruzer

Zcruzer Out Of The Brooder

Feb 24, 2015
    Hello everyone,

I'm new to BYC and wanted some input from other chicken lovers. I'm getting my first chickens very soon. I want a friendly, foraging, cold-hardy, heat-hardy, cool-looking chicken that lays lots of eggs(i will not be butchering my chickens ever but dual-purpose is fine.) I understand that getting all of my wants in one breed might not be possible and if i have to sacrifice some wants for others that is fine.

Thanks for the input!!!!!!!!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. chickybuddy100

chickybuddy100 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2014
    I have some...
    barred rocks
    Silver laced wyandotte
    Rhode island reds
    New Hampshire reds
    Buff orpington
    Partridge rock
    Australorp
    Black jersey giants
    White rocks

We have up to 102°f where I live in summer and down to -5 in winter and these birds do an excellent job .....they are really friendly and I've had them since chicks (I approve getting chicks because there always nicer to you when they get older) I get LOTS of fresh eggs daily

3. Zcruzer

Feb 24, 2015
    thanks so much i think i will get Buff Orpingtons i heard they are so friendly and lay lots of eggs and go broody.

thanks for the ideas!!!!![​IMG][​IMG]

4. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana