1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Which breeds live well together?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by UrbanFarmerGreg, Oct 14, 2011.

1. UrbanFarmerGreg

UrbanFarmerGreg Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2011
    As I am new to raising chickens and such I am wondering which breeds can live in the same coop together. Or which breeds do not go together at all? I currently have 2 young indian runner ducks, a breeding pair of Leghorns and I just bought 3 silkie chicks and they all live in seperate 'coops' can they go together in one coop now? or eventually? I am looking to add a few more hens that lay brown eggs and was wondering if any certain breed should be chosen or avoided... thanks

2. TheSpiceGirls

TheSpiceGirls Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 6, 2010
    Bay Area, CA
    Great question. I'm curious what others have to say.

I do think that it sometimes boils down to the individual personality of each hen. I had an Easter Egger, Buff Orpington and a Jersey Giant. The EE always had it out for the BO and I finally just gave her away. I was really freaking out about just having the two hens and those two didn't seem to be buddies. But now that the EE bully is out of the picture, the BO and the JG are best buds and hang out together all day long. They are so sweet.

But the JG is a lot of bird for me and my little backyard. So I'll be adding two more BO's to my flock next spring. Such sweet and docile birds. Just love them.

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA