Which girls are which?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by apprentice, Dec 7, 2014.

1. apprentice

apprentice Out Of The Brooder

Jul 8, 2013
    I will have had chickens for 3 years this coming may. The original coop is 6x10' walled with a concrete floor, that being part of a covered 12x20' fenced area for days they don't get to free range (1or 2 days a week max). Btw there are 22 girls with a cochin roo that stays as far away from me as he can get, with 4 guineas.

I'm all about this chicken business, I want to do more. My beautiful new wife agrees that we should have meat birds constantly this summer, so naturally :) I am trying to convince her that an incubator with our breed-specific eggs is the next common-sense step in a sustainable, reliant food source. My main question is how do i know which girls will be year olds and which will be 2 year olds? Is there a way to mark a bird permanently that is easily recognizeable?

I'm new to this and don't know the obvious. Any knowledge is appreciated, thank you

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Hatchaholic Extrordinaire Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    You can band them! You can buy legbands that you just put around the leg of the birds you want to mark.

3. apprentice

Jul 8, 2013
    What kind of legbands? I take it they are marked somehow and don't get in the way of normal chicken goin-ons?

4. Pyxis

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    Yep! You can get either metal or plastic, your choice, and you get the plastic ones in multiple colors. You can get numbered ones, too, so if you keep notes you could note down that numbers 1-22 are two years old, 22-56 one year old, etc etc, or you could get different colors for each year.

Edit: If it helps you visualize at all, this is one of my hens with a band:
    [​IMG]

She's a bit blurry but you can see her band.

Last edited: Dec 7, 2014
  5. apprentice

Jul 8, 2013
    Forgive my ignorance, where do I get those?

6. Pyxis

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont