Which rooster is best for me???

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by BantamFan4Life, Oct 17, 2012.

1. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    I've had some bad experiences with flighty, agressive (to humans and chickens) Ameraucana roosters! I'm
    wondering what breed would fit in my standards of a good rooster, it needs to be:

1. Non aggressive

2.easily handled & make a good pet

3.Needs to take care of my hens (guide, protect from predators, and stop fighting between them)

4.Be good for breeding (so he actually has to mate them)

Please answer, I'm kind of taking a poll so I need lots of votes!!! Please put your opinion! Thanks!!!!

2. Big A Chickens

Big A Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2012
    Palmetto, Georgia
    What kind of hens do you have

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Orpington, Australorp, Leghorn, Hamburg, and whatever breed I'll choose I'll get hens of the same breed for breeding.

4. themadchicken

themadchicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 2, 2012
    Lehi Utah