Which temp is right

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Brie6895, Aug 23, 2014.

1. Brie6895

Brie6895 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2013
    Magnolia Springs, AL
    Yesterday I bought a indoor humidity and temp digital reader. My incubator thermostat has shown it staying at 99.8 and humidity at 40.

My hygrometer shows the same humidity but shows my temps being only 95..

Tonight I am going to start lockdown. Which thermometer should I believe? And should I turn the temperature up or just let it be?

Thanks!

2. HugHess

HugHess Chickrack Addict

Jul 14, 2014
    Go BROWNS
    Newbie here so take what I think with a large grain of salt...
    I read that as hatching chicks are old enough to get ready to hatch they of course start generating their own heat and that the bator temp should usually be turned down to accommodate.
    That came from the directions on my Hova Bator still air.
    Between the information in the 101 learning center, your directions on whatever model bator you have and the other Posters input you should be good to go.
    *If you have a still air, are your two readings coming from the same spot? Different readings will come from different spots of the incubator, especially in a still air. I don't know about bators with fans...
    Best wishes for a healthy, happy hatch!

3. Brie6895

Brie6895 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2013
    Magnolia Springs, AL

That is true I never really thought about the different spots.. I can't open it now to move it around since I'm in lockdown but I'm wondering which temp I should use for accuracy? I'm about to turn up humidity but now the humidity in the thermometer attached is about 10 degrees higher than the one I bought...

Ahh what to do!

It's now an hour into day 21 and stil no movement or anything. My temperature on my bator says 100.5 but on the hygrometer it says 95... Should I turn it up?

4. sumatrass

sumatrass Chillin' With My Peeps