White faced whistling duck info

Discussion in 'Ornamental Fowl (Swans, etc.)' started by nurglechicken, Jan 22, 2013.

1. nurglechicken

nurglechicken New Egg

Nov 23, 2012
    Hello! New to the whole duck thing here and was wondering if anyone could give me info on the White Faced Whistling Duck. If I had two pair how big of an aviary would I need? Also, do they spend much time on the water as opposed to the land? Most pics I see of them are on land. Any other info would be appreciated. Thanx

2. chickenzoo

chickenzoo Emu Hugger

I'm no expert on them.....I have a pair. I really enjoy them.and would like to find more. Mine are in a 16 x 30 pen along with my Mandrains....Ring Teal and Wood ducks.
    Mine.spend more time on land. They have perches etc...but still prefer to wall around. They do spend a fair time around the ponds edge. They get along pretty well with my other ducks...can be a little bossy but not aggressive. Mine come.close to me and beg. I love the noises they make....they are a cool little duck.

3. aldren90

aldren90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2010
    Florida
    Pretty much exactly what chickenzoo said, they are my favorites and they make amazing noises. They will need to be at least 2 pairs to a pen because they like to be in groups. 50 ft per pair is all they need but the bigger the better. Mine loved it when the water ran out of the pool and they could dabble in it as opposed to swimming in it. They also love to perch and get on top of things. Good luck!n;)

4. Lophura

Lophura Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2008
    Holden, Missouri
    Agree with everything said so far, but need to add that those big feet need protection from the cold!! Here in MO, I would not let mine out if the winter temps were below 20. Same went with the other Whistlers, those feet can be sensitive in the cold states.