White Leghorn roo or hen??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by cdunmire66, Aug 10, 2013.

1. cdunmire66

cdunmire66 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 2, 2013
    I am new to raising chicken and have 5 white leghorns that are about 4 months old. Because the comb on one was brighter color and standing straight up, i asumed it was a roo....then shortly after, a second one started to develop the same style comb only it flopped to the side - now the first one is flopping to. Does the comb on a rooster fall to the side or are these both hens? I can try to get a picture of them if it helps. [​IMG]

2. ilovechickensx

ilovechickensx Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2013
    UK
    Leghorns often get big, floppy combs - usually when they're close to laying :)
    If you're worried they might still be roos you can post some pics - I'm sure someone would be able to help!

3. cdunmire66

Jun 2, 2013
    I will see if i can get pics of them today to upload. They should be getting close to the age of laying so maybe i do have all hens. Thank you for your response.

4. cdunmire66

Jun 2, 2013
    They don't like getting their picture taken so this is the best i could get. [​IMG] I think i got at least one of each with the floppy combs. Any help?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. ilovechickensx

ilovechickensx Out Of The Brooder

Aug 4, 2013
    UK
    Well from the pictures I don't see any saddle feathers so I'm going to vote hens - but I'm sure someone with more experience will correct me if I'm wrong :)

Do they squat when you try to catch them? This is a sign they are females and are close to laying.

6. chickita12

chickita12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2013
    I agree with Ilovechickensx but I do not have too much experience either !Sorry! Lol

7. chickita12

chickita12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2013
    BTW they are beautiful birds!!!

8. cdunmire66

Jun 2, 2013