1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

White plymouth rock pullets for the freezer

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by lmz534, Aug 9, 2011.

1. lmz534

lmz534 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 31, 2011
    I ordered 8 White Plymouth rock pullets (day old) with the intention of stuffing them all in my freezer at some point. I do not like the "Frankenchickens" Cornish RockX, they creep me out! So I thought I'd go oldschool with these chicks. My questions are, what is the best organic feed I can give them, how often and with proper feeding, when should they be ready to butcher?(since I know they grow slower than the Frankenchickens) Any help would be appreciated. I'm kinda new to meat birds. Thanks guys!

Proud mama of 2 human kids, 1 German Shepherd, 1 housecat, 1 TB horse, 2 Holland Lops and 1 super sweetie-pie Buckeye Hen named "Doris".[​IMG]

2. gmendoza

gmendoza Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Rock Hill,SC
    you should get a dark cornish roo,then you can have meaties at any time. too bad those rocks are going to freezer camp. I would keep em with my dark cornish bulldog roo and make my own frankenchickens.

3. homesteadapps

homesteadapps Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2010
    Ohio
    Quote:Butcher at any time you like. Not sure why you are butcher young hens. Pullets/hens will mature slower but for cockerels, they will be a good enough size at about 14 to 20 weeks.

Let them free range and they won't really eat that much feed. Mainly get them started and once feathered let them loose outdoors.

If you have a feed mill in the area then they can grind you a mix of you own choosing or they will offer their favorite recipe

If they are laying hens then wait about two years then replenish the flock and cull the older hens.

Last edited: Aug 10, 2011